Majority of UCF’s 2016 Legislative Scholars to Hail from COHPA

 In Legal Studies, Public Administration

10/30 Update: The numbers now include an additional COHPA student.

A UCF committee has selected 12 students from the College of Health and Public Affairs to participate in the university’s Legislative Scholars Internship program for 2016.

The COHPA students represent 71 percent of the 17 students in total selected for the prestigious internship.

All 17 students will move to Florida’s capital, Tallahassee, in January to assist during the state Legislature’s 2016 session, Jan. 12 to March 11. Some also may assist at local legislative offices beforehand. The program will provide each intern with a $3,000 stipend, an apartment in Tallahassee with paid utilities, and reimbursement for one round trip to the capital.

“This is a fabulous opportunity for these students,” said James Beckman, chair of the Department of Legal Studies, home to eight of the students selected for the 2016 internships.

“The interns will help support our state legislative offices by conducting research, tracking bills, and assisting with constituent relations and other daily operations. The experience can open doors to career opportunities and give students an advantage when applying to law school,” he said.

Four students in the college’s public administration major were selected as well. The balance of those selected are political science or communication majors.

A committee appointed by Fred Kittinger, senior vice president for university relations, chose the students based on their completed application, academic audit, personal statement, resume, and skills in legislative research and response, as well as three letters of recommendation.

The COHPA students selected for the internship are identified below.

Legal Studies: Brianna Bailey, Princelee Clesca (also political science), Louise “Paula” Harrigan, Michaela Kirn, Adriana Metin, Andrea Ramirez, Caitlyn Shield, Tatiana Zuniga

Public Administration: Jamilah Felix, Hailee Mertz, Thomas Moyer, Tsciena White

Learn more

Start typing and press Enter to search